GFRIEND’s Yuju Debut Album [REC.]

join r/gfriendverse
3 min readSep 3, 2022

A mix of melancholy, confidence, resentment, and the bliss of freedom.

Listen now!

In a Zoom call with Clash, the 24-year-old singer refers to her solo debut album, REC., as a “memoir” — an index of emotions she felt throughout different stages of her life. “I just put all parts of [an] emotional experience into one album,” she says.

Blue and red. The colors permeating the album. The music video for ‘Play’ recalls both, while ‘Cold Winter’ and ‘Blue Nostalgia’ is the opposite of ‘Bad Blood’ and ‘The Killa’.

Press record. Red lights: on.

Bad Blood

The rock-infused album opened ‘Bad Blood’, an unfortunately short track, starts bold, angry and resentful.

Yuju: ‘Bad Blood’ is a very short but intense song.

Wendy [Red Velvet]: I didn’t think there are lyrics for intro, but there are.

Yuju: I know, right? Actually, this song was recommended by Konnect’s A&R team, Ididn’t pick it. The A&R team leader said “Yuju is very polite and kind but I think there’s a monster inside of you. I hope you take that out in the intro song” and recommended it to me. I was like ‘me?’, so (i/we wrote) the lyrics and ended up singing it

Wendy: oh, I liked it. It’s nice that this song came out and then ‘Play’, because it’s connected.

Play

“It was hard to be bring out my cheerful feelings. There was a little bit of anger and sadness inside me, but Ialso had confidence in myself. It was a state of mixed emotions. After thinking of expressing the disillusionment and freedom, ‘Play’ came out.” — Yuju for

The title track for the album is a mix of emotions, as the singer also says. There is resentment, there is melancholy but also resilience and confidence, laced with freedom.

More information:

The many meanings for the track name.

Cold Winter

take me somewhere else, i like the loneliness and excitement of those times. if not, just leave me intoxicated by this scent.

More information:

The Killa

More information:

Fan made lyric video.

Blue Nostalgia

More information:

Latest Release

Yuju’s second digital single ‘Evening’ with Big Naughty. The first digital single was ‘Love Rain’ featuring Suran:

Interviews

Bonus / Misc

Read the translations for the album:

The singer always had a passion for songwriting, but kept it for herself rather than to share with the world.

The first song she wrote for GFRIEND ‘Eye of the Storm’, a piece from a diary entry from the times the girl group was at its peak, and she was trying to find herself in the time inside the eye of the storm (fame and overwork), says ‘My time, my song. I’ll let you listen now.’.

End.

--

--